West Virginia Wrestling

Making The Call ...

by Dr. Bill Welker

Part Six, April 1999 - December 2001
Return to the current Making the Call Page

December 30, 2001
Q: When do wrestlers in West Virginia get the 2-pound growth allowance?
A: January 1st.

Q: If Wrestler A is pinning Wrestler B, and Wrestler B grabs Wrestler A's thumb and starts bending it -- What's the ruling?
A: The official does not want to penalize the top wrestler by stopping the match (and stopping a potential fall) if he does not have to. Usually, the referee will get Wrestler B to release the thumb and (1) call the fall if it occurs or (2) if no fall occurs, award backpoints and award another point for Wrestler B illegally grabbing the thumb.

Q: When can an official call a stalemate?
-- Wrestling Dad
A: Whenever a referee feels neither wrestler can improve his position, he can call a stalemate. Exception: If Wrestler A puts his opponent in a near-fall situation, but does not pin him, the match is never stopped, even if he has him there the entire 2 minutes of the period

December 20, 2001
Q: After drawing for the first match of a dual meet, which matches are odd and even?
-- Coach
A: Let's say the 189-pound weight class is drawn. In the normal rotation it would be even. Now, however, since it is the first match of the dual meet, it is "odd" and the next match "even" and so on from there.

December 15, 2001
Q: If Wrestler A performs a legal slam, and they go out-of-bounds with Wrestler B hitting his head on the floor, what's the call and does Wrestler B use injury time.
-- Shawn
A: To begin with, there is no such thing as a legal slam. It either is or is not a slam. As for the preceding situation, it is Wrestler A's responsibility to safely return Wrestler B to the mat. If not, Wrestler A will probably be penalized for a slam or unnecessary roughness. Wrestler B would use "recovery time." If he can't continue, Wrestler B would win due to his opponent's illegal move.

Q: What is a wrestler's "certified minimum weight?"

A: Certified minimum weight is the lowest weight a wrestler is allowed to wrestle. If a wrestler's certified minimum weight was 119, he could not wrestle at the 112-pound weight class.

Q: If a wrestler weighs-in at the 103-pound weight class all year, but wrestled these matches at 112, could he wrestle at the 103-pound weight class in regionals?

A: Absolutely, because 50% or more of his weigh-ins were at the 103-pound weight class. In the case above, he weighed in at 103 pounds 100% of his weigh-ins.

December 13, 2001
Q: Must a wrestler make "base weight" the first time he wrestles at a lower weight class?
A: Yes -- and it's anytime during the season.

December 12, 2001
Q: Can a wrestler compete all year at 112 pounds and then move up to the 119-pound weight class to compete in the regionals? If so, what about wrestling 50% of one's matches at a weight class during the year? -- Shawn
A: Yes, a wrestler can move up to the 119-pound class for regionals. The "50% of your matches" rule only pertains to the lowest weight class you plan to wrestle in regionals. A wrestler can always move up. Good question, Shawn!

December 10, 2001
Q: Can a wrestler compete in six matches in one day if one of the matches is a forfeit?
A: No. (Note: Also, don't forget that the wrestler must have a 45-minute between matches.)

March 2, 2001
Q: In the neutral position, Wrestler A false starts and his opponent, Wrestler B, is injured to such an extend that he cannot continue the match. Who wins the match?
-- Steve Porter
A: If the official only signals a false start, which is a technical violation, believe it or not, Wrestler A wins. The official also has the right to penalize Wrestler A with unnecessary roughness, along with the false start. In this scenario, Wrestler A would lose the match due to unnecessary roughness. Note, if you ever watch me officiate, I make sure I get to the starting lines before the wrestlers in the neutral position. I also put my arm between the two wrestlers before starting them. By doing so, if one wrestler should hit an explosive false start, I block his momentum with my arm, protecting the other wrestler. I have advised all referees to do the same to eliminate this problem. Great Question!

February 13, 2001
Q: If a boy wrestles at the 112-pound weight class all year, can he wrestle in the regional tournament at 119 pounds?
-- Roger Shaw
A: Yes, a wrestler can always move up.

February 6, 2001
Q: How are the officials chosen for the state tournament?
A: The wrestling coaches' state committee gives input on who should officiate states. Coaches ratings from the year before are also scrutinized. The WVSSAC office then evaluates the findings, and on the basis of merit (past and present performance), selects the 12 officials for the state tournament. Keep in mind, the WVSSAC office makes the decision on who officiates states; they have the final say on the selection of referees.

February 1, 2001
Q: What is the function of the Assistant Referee?
-- Wrestler's Mom

A: To begin with, he is there to help the match referee when assistance is needed. He can signal locked hands and grasping of clothes. The assistant referee can also jump in and stop an illegal hold that the referee is unable to see. However, the match official has the final word when there is a disagreement. Furthermore, only the match referee should address the score table and coaches. The assistant referee has the same mobility around the mat as the match referee. But note, only the match referee can indicate all points scored. The assistant referee basically is there to help allay human error; but it is the match official who always has the final say. Good Question!

January 31, 2001
Q: Explain the ruling regarding a wrestler having to recertify to a higher weight.
A: Below is the National Federation Rule 1-3-2a followed by an example of the rule in practice.

"After certification, a wrestler may not weigh-in more than one weight class above the weight of certification without recertifying at a higher weight."

Wrestler A is certified at the 103-pound weight class. He weighs in at 108 pounds and then wrestles at the 119-pound weight class. Does he have to recertify at the 112-pound weight category?
ANSWER: Wrestler A would still be certified at the 103-pound weight class since he only weighed in one weight class above his certified weight. Note, had Wrestler A weighed 113 pounds, he would then be recertified at the 112-pound weight class. After the two-pound weight allowance, the weight classes change to the 105-pound and 114-pound weight categories. So, if Wrestler A weighed in at 113 pounds, he would still be eligible for the 105-pound weight class. However, should he weigh-in at 115 pounds, Wrestler A would then recertify at the 114-pound weight classification.

January 27, 2001
Q: If a wrestler has used up all of his blood time and the referee has to stop the match again for bleeding, what's the call?
-- Junior High Coach
A: The match is over and his opponent wins. However, there is an exception if the referee stops the match just to clean up some more blood on the mat, clothing, or bodies. No blood time is utilized for this purpose.

January 22, 2001
Q: Wrestler A locks hands twice in the first period, applies an illegal full-nelson in the second period, and an illegal headlock in the third period. What calls are made?
A: The Progression is as follows:
1st Lock Hands: 1 penalty point
2nd Locked Hands: 1 penalty point
Illegal Full-Nelson: 2 penalty points
Illegal Headlock: Disqualification
(Note: These infractions are all progressive penalties.)

Q: A wrestler false starts 8 times in a match. How is it scored?
A: Just remember the first two false starts are cautioned. After that, there is a penalty point for each false start. (Remember, false starts are not part of the progressive penalties. You can not be disqualified for false starts or incorrect starting position.)

January 16, 2001
Q: In the tiebreaker of a match, the top man lost due to locked hands. I don't believe he was given enough reaction time. Please explain.
-- Winners Choice Spectator
A: If he locked hands while they were wrestling on the mat, there is NO reaction time. If the bottom man stood up and was then broken down by the top man, there is reaction time to release hands after being broken down. However, reaction time is in the eyes of the official making the judgment. Good Question.

January 11, 2001
Q: If the bottom man is on his back with only his shoulders in bounds, and even the top man is out-of-bounds, can back points and/or a fall occur?
-- Dr. Tim Miller
A: The answer is most definitely -- YES! The shoulders are considered the bottom man's supporting parts, so the match continues.

Q: If a coach approaches the score table to discuss a call with the official, is it mandatory that the official stop the match immediately?
A: No. The referee will wait until the action slows down before stopping the match; in other words, no points are about to be scored.

January 9, 2001
Q: If Wrestler A picks Wrestler B up off the mat and the "ref" bring him back to the mat easy, do you let him down easy or hard?
-- Wrestler from Midland
A: You better let him down easy because the official was kind enough to warn you. Ohterwise, you'll probably get hit with a slam.

January 3, 2001
Q: Is there a rule for walking off the mat at the end of a period to talk to your coach, etc.?
-- WV Grappler
A: Yes, if you don't first get permission from the official, it is a technical violation and your opponent receives one match point.

December 30, 2000
Q: There has been some controversy regarding the penalty for biting? What is the National Federation rule regarding this infraction?
-- A Concerned Coach
A: If an official indicates that one wrestler has bitten another wrestler, there can only be one ruling -- FLAGRANT MISCONDUCT! This would disqualify the wrestler from further competition in that event, be it a one, two, or three day individual/team or dual meet tournament.

December 26, 2000
Q: What is the WVSSAC ruling regarding attendance the day of a match?
-- NM Wrestler
A: It is my understanding that in order to wrestle that night the matman must attend at least a half day of school. Any other arrangement must be made by the school and the WVSSAC for approval.

December 25, 2000
Q: There is a new stating that officials must emphasize good sportsmanship during his pre-match duties and with the captains at the beginning of the meet. I haven't seen it occur. Why?
-- PA Wrestler
A: Well, it should occur because the match referee is required to do so. I emphsize it at dual meets. However, it is hard to do at tournaments with so much going on. But you're right, officials such perform this duty.

December 22, 2000
Q: What is the rule regarding the double underhook from the rear standing position to a snapback?
-- Pennsylvania Wrestler
A: This move is now illegal across the nation. In West Virginia, once the wrestler who is applying the hold pops his knees into the back of his opponent's knees -- it becomes illegal. If you have a double underhook from the rear standing position and take your opponent to either side to bring him to the mat, it is legal.

December 20, 2000
Q: Why have the shoelace rule? I don't understand the rule. It's tearing up the shoes and I think the WVSSAC should pay for our shoes.
-- A Wrestler from Afar
A: The reasoning behind the rule is quite simple. Many wrestlers over the years have been slyly untying their shoes to get a rest break; it's unethical. It cannot get any simpler than that. I agree with the rule, but I have some alternative approaches that will be discussed in my January 7th "Mat Talk," that appears in the Wheeling, Steubenville, and Parkersburg papers. As for blaming the WVSSAC, you are way off base. The WVSSAC had nothing to do with the new rule; you need to contact the National Federation in Indianapolis, Indiana. It is very important to do your homework before pointing the finger of blame.

December 18, 2000
Q: Shoelaces must be taped this year. Why is it not being enforced?
-- Pee Wee Coach
A: This is a National Federation (NF) rule and must be enforced at all junior high schools and high schools in West Virginia as required by the WVSSAC. As for pee wee tournaments, they are not governed by the NF or WVSSAC, so what they do is their business. The NF or WVSSAC have no jurisdiction over pee wee tournaments.

Q: When do we get the Two-Pound Growth Allowance?
A: The week of January 15th. This year January 15th is on a Monday, the start of the week.

December 13, 2000
Q: Do forfeits count on a wrestler's record?
A: They certainly do. He was there, he made weight, and scored points for his team because the other squad had no entry.

Q: Is there some kind of rule, written or unwritten, which governs how long the top wrestler may stay parallel without being called for stalling?
A: No; it's up to the judgment of the official. (Note: Also, no official should visually count anything before signalling stalling. It's not in the rulebook and shouldn't be done.)

Q: When should blood time occur?
A: Anytime there is bleeding anywhere on the body.

Q: If a wrestler loses consciousness from a headlock, isn't it safe to say that the headlock was illegal?
A: Absolutely NOT. I have seen many wrestlers over the years injured by perfectly legal moves. It comes with the territory of wrestling. Regarding the headlock, all legal headlocks (arm encircled) are to be looked upon by the match official as having the potential to be potentially dangerous, and should be stopped if the referee feels it's too tight -- but there would be no penalty. A headlock is illegal if there is no arm encircled. Sometimes the bottom man causes the legal headlock to become illegal -- again there would be no penalty.

December 13, 2000
Q: Can a wrestler compete in an independent (or open) tournament not sanctioned by the WVSSAC during the season?
-- Concerned Fan
A: Yes, by written permission of his principal, with the following stipulations:
1. He can NOT go to the open tournament as a representative of his school.
2. He can NOT compete in an open competition the same time that his school team is competing. If the junior varsity squad is having a match and the wrestler is a varsity performer, he still can NOT wrestle in an open event during the same time as the junior varsity meet is scheduled. But note, a wrestler could wrestle in an open event, say on a Saturday morning, and then wrestle for his school's wrestling team that night, with of course the permission stated above.
IMPORTANT NOTE: If a wrestler does NOT get written permission from his school's principal and competes in an open tournament, he will be removed from the school team for the remander of the season. That is an WVSSAC ruling.

December 4, 2000
Q: How many matches must a wrestler compete at his Certified Minimum Weight (CMW)in order to be eligible to wrestle at his CMW in regional/state competitions?
-- The Ballam Family
A: A wrestler must participate in at least 50-percent of his weigh-ins at his Certified Minimum Weight (CMW) in order to be eligible to wrestle at his CMW in the regional/state tournaments. Of course, he can always wrestle at a weight class higher than his CMW without any weigh-in percentage restrictions. Very Good Question!

November 8, 2000
Q: My response to Concerns of a Youth Coach regarding Tournament Officiating.
A: First of all, if a boy is crying, the match should be stopped immediately by the official, especially with youth wrestlers. If they are crying, they are not having fun and that is what youth sports should be all about.

Second, a referee should have the same respect and regard for youth wrestlers and coaches as he does for high school coaches and wrestlers. If there is a near-fall situation, the referee should be down on the mat watching for a fall.

When I coached (10 years as a high school coach) and was confronted with a lazy official, I would respectfully let him know about it and then give him a bad coach's rating which was sent to the WVSSAC.

Finally, even though I have been a referee now for 21 years, I know that coaches put a lot more time into the sport (working with the kids) than do officials, and of course, make far less money (if any). It is my belief that if a coach has a legitimate concern and approaches me in a respectful manner, he deserves a courteous response. If he confronts me in a belligerent and belittling manner, his stay at the tournament will be cut short.

November 5, 2000
Q: How can I start a wrestling program in college and what's a good weightlifting format?
--- College Wrestler
A: To begin with, you said there were a number of wrestlers attending your college, so get them together and start a club. Club objectives would be first to approach probably the head of the physical education department. He should be able to lead you in the right directions for possibly starting an intramural program.

From there, find someone who would be willing to coach you for practically nothing. Wrestling people are use to doing that for the love of the sport. He could then approach somebody in the athletic department who is sympathetic to your needs. You will probably have to fund the program on your own the first couple of years, so prepare for fundraisers.

As far as weightlifting goes, there are many strategies out there. Again, see someone in the physical education or athletic department who is knowledgeable in the area of weightlifting. I am sure they will assist you since it is their mission in life to promote physical well-being.

As for myself, I always used the "3 by the power of 10" equation. Whether it be curls, bench presses, etc., I always did three sets of 10 at each station (one set per rotation around the stations) which pushed me to the limit. Remember, you want endurance strength, not bulk. Too much bulk takes away from your flexibility, a vital necessity for championship performances on the mat.

I hope I have been of some help to you. Good luck on promoting wrestling at your college . . . and on the mats!

October 25, 2000
Q: In a dual meet, if a wrestler is disqualified for a flagrant misconduct and there is only one coach (There's no supervisory person to take him from the premises and be with him.), where does he go and what happens if he acts up again?
A: The wrestler may sit at the team bench, BUT he can not say a word. If he does act up again, the official will terminate the dual meet and the other team will win by a score of 1-0.

Note: Although the team lost, the matches of the boys who won or lost prior to incident would still count on their individual records as wins and losses. Of course, there would be no matches after the incident -- so those boys just don't wrestle that match (They would NOT be counted as forfeits.)

March 13, 2000
Q: How did you become a referee and how can I become one?
- Troy
A: After 15 years of competitive wrestling and 10 years of coaching, I decided to officiate the mat sport. In 1980, I contacted the secretary of our local wrestling officials board and he guided me in the right direction. You can do the same or contact the WVSSAC directly (304/485-5494), and they will enthusiastically give you all the information you need to become an official. Good luck, Troy!

February 29, 2000
Q: What would happen if the top wrestler had his opponent in a Guillotine and both wrestlers were pinned at the same time? Who would win?
A: The wrestler in control would win. (In practice, I doubt that an official would put himself in that situation. Furthermore, he usually does not have the angle to see both sets of shoulders at the same time. Very good brain teaser!)

February 28, 2000
Q: Is their a second choice of position after the second stalling call in the "Stall Procedure: Revised?"
A: No. It is a true progression of penalties of stalling infractions as follows:
1st - Warning
2nd - Choice
3rd - 1 point
4th - 2 points
5th - DQ

Q: Can a wrestler gain a reversal while both matmen are on their feet?
-- Wood County Fan
A: Yes. Unlike the takedown, you don't have to be broken down on the mat to gain reversal control.

Q: Is fleeing the mat to avoid wrestling (a technical violation) a tough call for officials?
-- Butch
A: It sure is! Most officials will not call it unless the manuever is totally obvious. Here are two obvious examples:
1. The top wrestler picking his opponent up in the middle of the mat and walking or running his opponent out-of-bounds.
2. Wrestler A has picked up a single leg in the middle of the mat and Wrestler B hops all the way out-of-bounds to avoid being taken down.

February 13, 2000
Q: If two wrestlers get hurt at the same time, and it is the second injury time-out for both of them, who would have choice of position when both wrestlers are ready to go?
A: Neither wrestler would have choice of position. They would start in the same position they were in prior to the injuries.

February 9, 2000
Q: When does the junior high/middle school wrestling season end?
A: The season for WVSSAC junior high/middle schools is over the week before states. The actual date this year is February 19th.

Q: Wrestler A has a 13 to 0 lead when he takes down Wrestler B -- straight to his back. Is the match over immediately?
A: No. Wrestler A is given the opportunity to pin his opponent. If he can't, Wrestler A then wins by a technical fall.

February 3, 2000
Q: When there are only four wrestlers in an eight-man bracket, does the wrestler who has finished fourth, not having won a match, score any points?
-- PP
A: Yes. The wrestler would receive fourth place points. Why...because he showed up, made weight, and was able to represent his team at that weight class. Good question!

February 3, 2000
Q: Wrestler A, the top wrestler, cradles Wrestler B, who somehow forces Wrestler A toward his back, and stops him there in what would normally be near-fall points. When does Wrestler A lose control?
-- SF
A: As long as Wrestler A keeps his hands locked, even in a double cradle situation, he would still be in control. When the hands break and the official feels his opponent has gained control; then a reversal can be awarded, followed by near-fall points if appropriate.

Q: If Wrestler A is coming out the back door for a reversal, and Wrestler B applies a leg scissors to stop him (not draping). Furthermore, the scissors runs at an angle from Wrestler A's left neck to his right arm pit. Is this considered an illegal head scissors?
A: Yes, it is an illegal head scissors, with or without an arm encircled, because part of the scissors is around the neck which could cut off circulation. Great Questions!

Q: Does a forfeit count as a match wrestled that day?
A: Yes -- for two reasons. First, it counts as a win for him. Secondly, he has to step out on the mat ready to wrestle in order to receive the forfeit.

Q: When should an official call the "fleeing the mat" technical violation?
A: The referee should make this call when, in his judgment, the wrestler is doing so to avoid wrestling. Again, it is a judgment call.

February 1, 2000
Q: Wrestler A locks his hands twice as Wrestler B is attempting to escape with the same sit-out maneuver. Is Wrestler A charged with two locked hands situations?
A: Yes.

January 27, 2000
Q: If an official stops a takedown (not yet earned) for an illegal hold by the wrestler initiating the takedown, but then realizes it is legal, does the wrestler get his takedown?
A: No. It is considered an inadvertent whistle that happens on occasion. The wrestlers must restart in the neutral position.

January 25, 2000
Q: I have never fully understood how seeding in tournaments is done. Is it determined by records?
A: Every tournament director develops his own criteria for seeding that all participating coaches should be aware of before the seeding meeting. Usually the following points are considered:
1. The wrestler's record
2. If the wrestlers competed against each other, what were the results the last match?
3. The evaluation of scores regarding common opponents.
4. Was the wrestler a past champion or placewinner at this weight class in the tournament?

Q: In junior high school (14 weigh-in limit) or in high school (16 weigh-in limit), if some of the wrestlers reach their weigh-in limit, can those wrestlers who haven't still continue to wrestle?

Q: What happens if one wrestler is pinning his opponent and bleeding (a little or a lot) occurs by either wrestler?
A: The match must be stopped immediately when the official observes it.

January 20, 2000
Q: How are byes determined in a tournament?
Mother of Wrestler
A: First of all, a bye is when there is no opponent from a team(s) for a tournament. Secondly, when byes are distributed for a weight class, there should be an equal number of byes on the top and bottom halves of the bracket (when possible with an even number of byes). Next, byes are often drawn to see where they go on each side of a bracket. Finally, you can only score points (2) from a bye if you win the next match.

January 18, 2000
Q: If a wrestler uses all of his blood time, can he then use his injury time?
A: No. The match is over.

Q: Can a coach request a certain referee to do a match in a dual-meet tournament or regular tournament?
A: There is nothing in the rules, but it's really not wise to do. Afterall, the other coach may not like the same official. In such events, it is usually the luck of the draw in determining which referee does the match.

January 13, 2000
Q: Does the conference tournament which is exempt from the 14 weigh-ins in junior high and 16 weigh-ins in high school have to be the last event?
A: No.

January 13, 2000
Q: What happens if Wrestler A calls a second injury time-out after he used up all his injury time during the first time-out?
Wirt County
A: Wrestler A would LOSE the match by DEFAULT.

January 12, 2000
Q: What is the minimum weight for the 103-pound weight class?
A: At this time, the National Federation does not have a minimum weight for the 103-pound weight category.

Q: When do wrestlers get the 2-pound weight allowance? Is it on the 15th of January?
A: In West Virginia, it is the week of January 15th, which is Saturday this year. So, starting Monday, January 10th, the wrestlers will get their 2-pound allowance. Remember, a week starts on Sunday.

December 7, 1999
Q: Should an official do a match where he has coached at, wrestled for, or graduated from?
Former Wrestler
A: In my opinion, no. The referee is only asking for trouble if he does, but sometimes, especially in tournaments, he has no choice. There is no rule saying that a referee cannot do a match involving a team he is associated with, but again it is still not a good idea.

Q: Is fleeing the mat or forcing your opponent out of bounds to avoid wrestling a stalling violation?
New Coach
A: No, it is a technical violation and there is no warning before point(s) are earned for the infraction. (Rule 7, Section 3, Article 2; p. 26 of present NF Wrestling Rulebook.)

Q: Are there age limits for officials?
Longtime Fan
A: An official must be at least 18 years old. Also, as long as an official is in good condition, he can officiate as long as he wants. I have have seen men in their 70s do an excellent job on the mats.

November 20, 1999
Q: What is the proper procedure if one wrestler is accidently knocked out? Keep in mind, nothing illegal transpired.
A: If a wrestler is rendered unconscious, he can not continue without on-the-spot written permission by a physician. If not, he loses by an injury default.

November 17, 1999
Q: What are the rules on wearing tights under your singlet?
A: Tights under the singlet is fine as long as there are foot stirrups to them. Of course, in WV, you must have visible socks over the tights.

November 6, 1999
Q: Wrestler A is bleeding due to an illegal hold. He uses 3 minutes and 30 seconds of his blood time, and then wrestling resumes. Later in the match, Wrestler A again begins bleeding from the same wound caused by the illegal hold. Wrestler A uses up the rest of his blood time and can not continue. Who wins the match - Wrestler A or Wrestler B?
-- William Tim Dowler
A: Wrestler B would win the match. If Wrestler A couldn't have continued when he was first bloo died by the illegal move, then Wrestler A would have won. But once he started wrestling again, Wrestler B could not lose later in the match due to a previous infraction. Another example would be if a wrestler injured his ribs due to an illegal figure-4 body scissors, but then continues. If later in the match those same ribs began to hurt again, and he could not continue--his opponent would win. This is basically the same scenario without bleeding. Great question, Mr. Dowler!

October 19, 1999
The Second Injury Timeout Interpretations

1) If Wrestler A requests his second injury timeout at the end of the first period, Wrestler B will have the choice of position in both the 2nd and 3rd periods (top, bottom, or neutral).

2) If Wrestler A requests a second injury timeout at the end of third period and the match is tied, Wrestler B would have his choice of top, bottom, or neutral in the Overtime Period.

3) If Wrestler A would request a second injury timeout at the end of the Overtime Period with the match tied, Wrestler B would have the choice of top or bottom (NOT neutral) at the start of the Tiebreaker.

4) If Wrestler A requests a second injury timeout during the course of the Tiebreaker, Wrestler B would have his choice of staying where he's at or switching (top or bottom) positions.

Consider the following "unusual" situation in the Tiebreaker:
Wrestler A has been riding Wrestler B for 28 seconds of the Tiebreaker. At this point, Wrestler A requests a second injury timeout. Wrestler B chooses to be on top (since he has had no luck getting an escape), and wins the match by easily riding Wrestler A for just 2 seconds.

April 15, 1999
Q: What if a double injury default occurred in the finals of regionals, who would move on to states and in what position on the state bracket?
A: Very good question!!! Keep in mind, both wrestlers could only score 2nd place points in the regional tournament. These are my thoughts:
1. The wrestler who was winning at the time would be placed in the champion line at the state tournament, the other in the runner-up spot.
2. If the score is tied, flipped a coin for bracket positions in state tournament.
3. Or, if injuries to both wrestlers are so serious that neither one nor the other, nor both could participate in states, then 6th thru 3rd place finishers would move up (for example, 3rd would go to 1st and so on.
Final decisions on how this would be done would be made by the WVSSAC. The above suggestions are the only ones I can think of at this time. In my 10-year as rules interpreter, I have yet to come up with this situation. And I sincerely hope I never do!! Again, great question.

April 10, 1999
Q: Two more questions on a double injury default:
1. Where would the two wrestlers go in the consolation bracket if the defaults occurred in the championship bracket of a tournament?
2. What happens if the double default injury occurs in the championship finals of a tournament--who is declared the champion?
A: The following are the answers to the questions:
1. Unfortunately, both wrestlers would be eliminated from further competition in that tournament. They would not be placed anywhere in the consolation bracket.
2. Both wrestlers would be declared runners-up and there would be no champion in that weight class for the tournament.

April 8, 1999
Q: Only Wrestler A's feet are inbounds and Wrestler B is entirely out of bounds. Can Wrestler A continue to go for the takedown in this position?
A: No. In this position, the takedown must be scored immediately, or the official will blow the whistle for out of bounds.

Q: If both wrestlers shoot for a takedown at the same time and hit heads, knocking both unconscious, who wins the match if there is no doctor present?
A: There is no winner; it's a double default.

Q: Wrestler A has a record of 68-7-3. What does the "3" stand for?
A: The "3" stands for ties. However, there are no more ties in wrestling between opponents. (Note: In dual meets and tournaments, there can still be ties between the teams in WV.)

Return to the current Making the Call Page
Return to the WV-Mat front page