Shape of Wrestling

Registration required to post. Anyone can read.
Bucktail

Shape of Wrestling

Postby Bucktail » Wed Jan 31, 2018 2:53 pm

Years ago 98-05, I was a sports writer in Pa and wrestling was my beat. At the state tournament, there was a fairly lively discussion about how PA was resistant to the idea of moving to a host of dual tournaments and wanted to preserve the home gym dual feel. Some of the issues discussed were the number of matches wrestlers have at these tournaments, and then for the year, but another was the wear and tear on the referees. The Consensus was it was better to keep the local rivalries in the individual home and home dual schedule for conference titles as well as to give all the wrestlers their due for the local papers and community camaraderie. The teams would still attend a couple of tournaments every year, but the focus was on the home dual meet season.