Interesting article on Deaf Michigan Wrestler

Registration required to post. Anyone can read.
timamos

Interesting article on Deaf Michigan Wrestler

Postby timamos » Sun Dec 06, 2015 11:12 am

forthekids

Re: Interesting article on Deaf Michigan Wrestler

Postby forthekids » Sun Dec 06, 2015 2:49 pm

Tim,
I am curious to know your position on this. I personally do not think the ruling is out of line, I think for the most part he get the same as other kids. He should know to look to the corner every time there is match stoppage for instructions. I understand the part of other wresters can hear instruction but can he truly get it through interrupter in a split second. BUT then again I am fine with it as long he/she does not step on mat. SO I guess I see both sides. Really the part I don't get is how everyone takes it court. Cant we have common sense and just do the right thing.

timamos

Postby timamos » Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:42 pm

I'm just a real estate lawyer so I don't have a great insight on the ADA but I recall it requires a "reasonable accommodation". Legally, having the interpreter in the corner is probably enough of a reasonable accommodation. In the heat of battle, the hearing impaired wrestler may have the advantage because he isn't distracted by some of the non-sense being screamed/other match whistles/etc. Thinking about when advice is commonly given, not having an interpreter is a disadvantage during the time it takes to set up in referee's position top/bottom (depending upon the level of competition). If I were coaching against the deaf kid, I would have no problem with the interpreter being allowed to roam around the outside of the cylinder during any stoppage, including the set up for referee's position.