West Virginia Wrestling

Beckley Newspaper Invitational

Date: 12-7-02
Location: Shady Spring High School

Team Scores

1st Shady Spring
2nd Greenbrier East
3rd Liberty
Wyoming East
Oak Hill
Midland Trail
Big Creek

103 Championship: Vacant
112 Championship: Josh Neal (SS) p. Josh Workman (MT) 1st
119 Championship: Justin Hawkins (Lib) Mdec. Cory McGraw (WE)
125 Championship: Anthony Harvey (SS) p. Cobin Thorn (WE) 2nd
130 Championship: Matt Vance (GE) dec. Derek Scarbro (SS) 10-9
135 Championship: Justin Chapman (SS) p. Rocky Scarbro (Lib) 3rd
140 Championship: Josh Daniel (Lib) p. Teddy Johns (Fay) 2nd
145 Championship: Shawn Garland (OH) dec. Chuck Meadows (SS) 14-6
152 Championship: Carter King (GE) p. Kurt Thomas (Fay) 1st
160 Championship: Eric Thorn (GE) p. Josh Jones (SS) 1st
171 Championship: Buster Carico (Lib) p. Dustin Thompson (SS) 3rd
189 Championship: Mike Hambrick (GE) Mdec. Aloof (Fay)
215 Championship: Collin Bennett (GE) p. Thurmond Honaker (Lib) 2nd
275 Championship: Patrick Burns (GE) p. Lincoln Harrison (Lib) 2nd

Comments: The tournament was smaller this year than in years past. Once again Matt Vance claimed the Bill Lilly outstanding wrestler award.

Submitted by: Jason Hackbarth .

Return to the Scores Index Page
Return to the WV-Mat front page