West Virginia Wrestling


by Dr. Bill Welker

Today I have the extreme pleasure of announcing Mat Talk's 18th annual OVAC Ohio and West Virginia Wrestlers of the Year.

The honorees are determined by a committee of five Ohio Valley wrestling enthusiasts, which includes and is chaired by yours truly.

As always, I would like to take this opportunity to thank Bill Hinegardner (Mr. Mat 1984), Ron Mauck (Mr. Mat 1986), Dave Kovalick (Mr. Mat 1988) and Dick Wolfe (OVAC souvenir program coordinator) for graciously volunteering to serve on this selection board.

I have never worked with a more sincere and honorable group of men.

Recipients must be seniors and are chosen on the basis of personal wrestling accomplishments over the course of their entire scholastic careers.

This year's winners are Martins Ferry's Clay Tucker and John Marshall's Dustin Richey.

Clay Tucker

Dustin Richey
Special accolades are addressed to the following individuals who brought 2005 state championships home to the OVAC: West Virginia: Ronnell Green, Ron Green, and Kevin Staub - Wheeling Park
Dustin Richey, John Marshall; Tim Cumpston and Jeff Compston, Cameron;
Jessie Mahan, Rhett Northcraft, Chris Stevens, and Cody Potts, Oak Glen.

Special Recognition Congratulations are once again forwarded to Oak Glen wrestlers, Larry Shaw, and his coaching staff in winning their unprecedented ninth consecutive WV Class AA/A State Championship.

Return to the West Virginia Mat Thoughts Index Page
Return to the WV-Mat front page