West Virginia Wrestling


by Dr. Bill Welker
National Wrestling Hall of Famer

2009 OVAC Wrestlers of the Year

Today, I have the extreme pleasure of announcing Mat Talk's 22th Annual "OVAC West Virginia and Ohio Wrestlers of the Year."

The honorees are determined by a committee of five Ohio Valley wrestling enthusiasts, which includes and is chaired by yours truly. As always, I would like to take this opportunity to thank Bill Hinegardner (1984 Mr. Mat), Ron Mauck (1986 Mr. Mat), Dan Doyle (2005 Mr. Mat), and Dick Wolf for graciously volunteering to serve on this selection board. I have never worked with a more sincere and honorable group of men.

The recipients must be seniors and are chosen on the basis of personal wrestling accomplishments over their entire scholastic careers. This year's winners are Wheeling Park's Dirk Bauer and Bellaire's Robbie Chilson .

Dirk Bauer

* Three-Time West Virginia AA/AAA State Champion (2007, 2008 & 2009)
* Three-Time West Virginia AAA Regional Champion (2007, 2008, & 2009)
* Three-Time OVAC Champion (2007, 2008, & 2009)
* 2009 OVAC Bierkortte Award Winner (Outstanding Wrestler)
* NHSCA Open National Champion (2008)
* Ohio Tournament of Champions Champion (2007)
* Two-Time Hoppel Beaver Local Invitational Champion
* Selected to wrestle on the OVAC All-Star Team and WV Team All-Stars at the Dapper Dan Classic in Pittsburgh.
* Overall Record: 160-22 Senior Record: 41-3
* Coach: Sean Doyle
Robbie Chilson
* 2009 Ohio Division III State Bronze Medalist
* Three-Time Ohio Division III Place Winner
* OVAC Champion (2007)
* Three-Time OVAC Place Winner
* Three-Time Sectional Champion (2007 to 2009)
* Two-Time District Champion (2007 - 2008)
* Selected to wrestle in the OVAC All-Star Team vs. MAC Conference (PA) All-Stars
* Overall Record: 157-32 Senior Record: 50-4
* Holds the record for most wins at Bellaire High School
* Coach: Shane Shaffer
(31th Edition)

Since this is the last Mat Talk column of the season, it is again time for my faithful readers to be tested on the facts disseminated throughout the series. There are no grades given, but you can rate yourselves.

True or False
1. There are no longer any individual ties in wrestling.
2. The coach can instruct his wrestler during injury time.
3. A wrestler can never lose if he has a technical fall.
4. Excessive false starts can never disqualify a wrestler.
5. A fall scores the same amount of team points in a dual meet and a tournament.

Short Answers
6. What is baiting an opponent in wrestling designated as in the rulebook?
7. How many match points are awarded for a takedown right to the back, with the match being stopped due to the bottom man crying out that he is injured?
8. If Wrestler A applies a straight body scissors while attempting a fall and Wrestler B can not continue, who wins the match?
9. What can eliminate a wrestler from competing in a dual meet or tournament before it starts?
10. If a wrestler secures a takedown while his opponent is a figure-4 head scissors, how many points would he receive?

Mat Salute

Special accolades are addressed to the following 2007 area individual state champs:

West Virginia: Dirk Bauer, Wheeling Park; Tevon Hall and Tanner Whyte, Cameron; and Cullen Grover, Tyler Consolidated.

Furthermore, all OVAC wrestlers who have placed in their respective state tournaments will again receive the WHEELING NEWS-REGISTER's "Mat Talk All-State Award Winner" certificates for their outstanding performances. This year certificates have been forwarded to 40 local matmen. Since 1982, more than 1000 certificates have been distributed.

Special Recognition

Congratulations are forwarded to the Oak Glen wrestlers and the coaching staff on their 13th straight West Virginia State AA Championship. Also, many congrats to Golden Bear head coach, Larry Shaw, for being selected the Dix Manning WV AA Coach of the Year. This award is especially gratifying to Coach Shaw because the legendary wrestling coach, Dix Manning, was Larry Shaw's high school mat mentor.


Permit me to take this opportunity to thank the West Virginia Chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame for inducting yours truly into the Hall at Stillwater, Oklahoma last October. Official's Corner

This year four area referees were selected to officiate the West Virginia state wrestling tournament in Huntington. They are Jim Copney, Chris Diserio, Ray Marling, and Jack Regis. Many congratulations are extended to all four of these fine OVAC officials!

Mat Message
"If you wouldn't write it or sign it, don't say it."
- Earl Wilson

Answers to the Mat Talk Final Exam: 1. True; 2. True; 3. False; 4. True; 5. False; 6. Unsportsmanlike Conduct; 7. Four Match Points; 8. Wrestler A; 9. Not Making Weight; 10. Three Match Points.
Check Your Rating
(the number right)
9 to 10 - Referee's Rating (He has the last word.)
6 to 8 - Coach's Rating (He has the next-to-last word.)
3 to 5 - Spectator's Rating (He knew the answer but is now confused because the "ref" and coach are having words.)
0 to 2 - No Rating (You've been watching too much studio "rassling" and are at a loss for words.)

Be seeing you next season with more "Mat Talk!"


The following are the past Ohio and West Virginia wrestlers receiving the prestigious OVAC Wrestlers of the Year Award:

1988 - John Crain, Oak Glen
      Rick Burlenski, Bridgeport

1989 - Dave Wood, Cameron
      Dunyasha Yetts, Steubenville

1990 - Ed Neely, Weirton Madonna
      Babe Sidon, Martins Ferry

1991 - Eric Potts, Cameron
      Scott DeYarmon, Buckeye Local

1992 - R. C. Anderson, Cameron
      John Gilbeaut, Union Local

1993 - Ryan Dudas, Cameron
      Kelly Shields, Edison

1994 - Chad Burge, Cameron
      Ryan Slack, Shadyside

1995 - Jason Taylor, Wheeling Park
      Brian Roskovich, Bridgeport

1996 - Josh Giovengo, Bishop Donahue
      Eric Anderson, Bellaire St. John's

1997 - Dewitt Stanley, Brooke
      Sean Doyle, Buckeye Local

1998 - Chad Pratz, Linsly
      Travis Clark, Union Local

1999 - Alex McClung, Oak Glen
      Matt Salsberry, East Liverpool

2000 - Steve Ochap, Wheeling Park
      Scott Roth, Martins Ferry

2001 - Eric Noel, Oak Glen
      Cole Bowersock, Beaver Local

2002 - Derrick Sickles, Oak Glen
      John Tierney, Martins Ferry

2003 - Phil Bliss, Brooke
      David Berolino, Buckeye Local

2004 - Casey Hughes, Cameron
      Koel Davia, Union Local

2005 - Dustin Richey, John Marshall
      Clay Tucker, Martins Ferry

2006 - Rhett Northcraft, Oak Glen
      Willie Saxton, Buckeye Local

2007 - Ronnell Green, Wheeling Park
      James Myers, Indian Creek

2008 - Zach Basich, Wheeling Central
      Bryan Skoff, Bridgeport

Return to the West Virginia Mat Thoughts Index Page
Return to the WV-Mat front page