Virginia High School Wrestling]

Wirt County High School

Tigers -- Wrestling

Think of small counties who wrestle big and you will think of Wirt County. The smallest county in West Virginia population wise (5,192), the Tigers have a long history of excellence in sports.

Wirt County started their wrestling program in 1961 under Coach Charles Roberts. The Tigers have been the most dominant team in the LKC over the years. They won the first eight conference crowns and overall, have claimed 13 conference titles, 4 runner-ups and six thirds. Wirt County is the only small school to win a state title when they toppled the big schools at the state tournament in 1968. Individually, Wirt has had four four-time LKC conference champions, including 4 time state champ Mike Miller; seven three-time LKC conference champions and five outstanding LKC conference wrestlers.

The Tigers have produced 21 individual state champs since 1965:

Chuck Mills,1965, 154
Bryan Ferguson, 1977-78, 185
Buddy Winnell, 1979, 98
Dennis DeBerry, 1980, UNL
Danny Ray, 1984, 167
Jon Bain, 1985-86, 112
Chad Ray, 1987, UNL
Donny Hickman, 1990-91, 140
Mike Sheppard, 1992-93, 152,160
Toby Ray, 1993, 171
Danny Life, 1994-95, 119
Mike Miller, 1996, 103
David Drennen, 1996, 112
Eddie Powell, 1996, 140
Mike Miller, 1997, 119
David Drennen, 1997, 125
Jason Miller, 1997, 130
Mike Miller, 1998, 125
David Drennen, 1998, 160
Mike Miller, 1999, 140
Josh Cross, 2000, 135

Jump to the Wirt County High School Home Page
Return to the WV-Mat front page
Return to the list of teams
Return to the AA/A region map